This mill was originally built by Thomas Walker, Thomas Jefferson's guardian around 1783. Henry Browne, renowned restoration architect and preservationist, completely and faithfully restored this unique property into
the comfortable home it is today.
In 1994 Mr Browne received an award from the Thomas Jefferson Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities.
The main home is on three levels of stone
and clapboard construction with detached studio of frame construction which is outfitted to be either a separate apartment or a complete office.